Lux Beatissima, December 17

Capital Chamber Choir


Founded in 2009 by Sara Brooks, the Capital Chamber Choir is a 30-voice auditioned ensemble composed of advanced singers from the Ottawa region. The ensemble was formed as an outlet for Canadian and local music, and to showcase the exciting variety within the contemporary choral music world. In 2012, the choir welcomed Jamie Loback as its Artistic Director.

The ensemble has become well-known on the Ottawa choral scene for its energy, versatility, and high-quality performances. Since its inaugural year, the ensemble has been committed to showcasing a wide range of Canadian choral music, including works by Timothy Corlis, Eleanor Daley, John Estacio, Jocelyn Morlock, Imant Raminsh, R. Murray Schafer, Peter Anthony Togni, Healey Willan, and Ottawa-based composers Steven Gellman, Frederic Lacroix, Timothy Mott, and Nicholas Piper. Although the Choir’s programmes are composed predominantly of Canadian repertoire, they have also featured international composers such as Ola Gjello, Morten Lauridsen, Eric Whitacre, and John Tavener.

The Capital Chamber Choir has performed with distinguished musicians such as Julian Armour and the Chamber Players of Canada, Kathleen Battle, Sandra Graham, Emma Kirkby, and Daniel Taylor & the Theatre of Early Music. The 2013-14 season has also provided the ensemble with wonderful opportunities for collaborative performances with the Ottawa Regional Youth Choir, the Nepean High School Chamber Choir, the Ewashko Singers, and the Calixa Lavallee Choir of the University of Ottawa’s School of Music.

Capital Chamber Choir, December 2013

(Photo credit: Paul Couvrette)